Home About Us Media Gallery Registration Contact
About Us
Pain has been an integral part of mankind and still continues to be an unsolved problem. Understanding and management of pain is an important consideration and a birthright of every individual.

Keeping pain relief as common goal, group of professionals interested in pain management started the International Association for Study of Pain (IASP) in the year 1974. It was Dr. John Bonica who brought the physicians and scientists on this common platform to fight against pain. He is aptly termed as ‘Father of Pain Management’.

ISSP (National)
The Indian movement on pain management started in early eighties by senior clinicians namely Dr. Pritam Singh, Dr.Saini, Dr.Bhattacharya, Dr.Pramila Chari, Dr.Yajnik.S.,Dr.Sushila Shah, Dr.Akram Lal, Dr.Kumar.P., Dr.Pandey.K.,Dr.Bhatia.M.T.,Dr.Rastogi.V.,Dr.Sharma.K.N. and many others.

The Indian Society for Study of Pain (ISSP) was formed in the year 1984. The First President was Dr.Akram Lal, Secretary was Dr.Rastogi.V. and Treasurer Dr.Kumar.P. The Society conducted its First National Conference in the year 1985 at Varanasi. The society’s journal ‘Indian Journal of Pain’ was started in the year 1985 under editorship of Dr.S.Yajnik. The Society was acknowledged as Indian chapter of International Association for Study of Pain (IASP)in the year 1987. ISSP entered silver jubilee year of its formation in 2009.

ISSP has become a strong body with very sound base formed by a team of dedicated, senior members.  It is a matter of pride for all of us that the membership has increased to more than 1300 members and almost 25 different specialties are part of this Organization. Regular academic activities at national & state level exhibit the interest of our members to learn more & more on techniques of pain- relief, training fellowship for junior member adds to this interest. Older traditions and myths are slowly but definitely getting out of the people’s mind. Today, with so many advances in the techniques and medicines, we are definitely in a better position to treat almost all types of pain.

The practice of pain management in Andhra Pradesh started almost simultaneously with other parts of country. In fact the fourth National Conference of Indian Society for Study of Pain was held at Hyderabad in 1988 with Dr.Rupendra Lal as Organising Secretary. After the event sporadic events on pain management continued to happen till 2000. With new millennium the pain management momentum picked up a great speed. The Andhra Pradesh Branch of Indian Society for Study of Pain was started with Dr.Kameswara Rao.A.S. as President, and Dr.Venugopala Rao.T.as Secretary. The branch was formed at Kakinada on August 15th of 2004. Within no time the young branch proved itself by conducting the 24th National Conference of ISSP at Hyderabad in 2009. ISSP entered its silver jubilee year during the conference. It was a memorable event.
This conference became a landmark for the ISSP National because of many new initiatives:
  1. For the first time ISSP Flag was hoisted at Hyderabad. The AP branch of issp takes pride in preparing the flag after inputs from all executive committee members of ISSP National.
  2. The credit hours were introduced for the first time in ISSP National Conferences.
  3. The conference registered highest number of delegates till date.
  4. To promote the concept a ‘Beginner’s Forum’ was started.
  5.  The icing on the cake was the founder members of ISSP National expressed, this was best conference in last 25 years
All this was possible because of excellent support and effort by the members of AP state branch. The event has raised the bar of standards for future conferences. Some of the photographs event can be accessed at photo gallery of this website.

Itís a beginning for us; we need to travel a long distance for bright future. We have taken few initiatives with inputs from members one of them happens to be this interactive website. We are planning to have various scientific programmes to spread awareness about Pain Management.

ISSP Flag hoisted at ISSPCON 2009 Hyderabad.
Contact : +91 9949049946 Email : support@isspap.org

Young Pain
Physician 2011